Historical Campaigns

20120131-170111.jpg

With the release of the new Marvel game, I have begun to think more about how I run my own superhero games. My gaming group took a hiatus from our campaign last September, while I creatively recharged. I’m hoping to start again with the new system.
Our group, called RAD Squad (for Rapid Action Deployment) takes places in 1984-1985, after the majority of well-known heroes and villains of the time have disappeared during The Secret Wars, sponsored by The Beyonder.
Being set in the 1980s, I try hard to get the feel for the time by introducing personalities and plot lines that Marvel ran during those times, with some creative license when it comes to the exact timing of those events. Things like The Scourge, The Armor Wars, etc.
Beyond that, however, it’s difficult to invoke the 80s without going over the top. And let’s be honest, in superhero games, the technology can be as advanced as one needs, so that tends not to be a good benchmark.
Tangentially, I’ve always wanted to run a Steampunk game but never felt comfortable invoking the feel for that age…
If I have any readers, how do you handle this?

Categories: GMing | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

